New Pattern, Pigwidgeon!

Oh yes, you’ve heard me lament over the hot weather delaying my photo shoot. You have seen a photo after I finally got cooperating weather. Now, you get all the info! Today is release date for Pigwidgeon. I had so much fun designing and then knitting this one up. I think I have mentioned on here (maybe not), I am obsessed with colorwork right now. Like, I want to knit it…all the time.

So, I was thinking about a top down, in the round jumper for little kiddies and then I was thinking…hmmm, owls. I love spunky little owls. So, I charted a spunky owl, swatched him about a 100 times, and then designed the sweater and the rest is history. The motif, just seemed to scream PIGWIDGEON. So, I started calling my project Pigwidgeon and then it just stuck. I felt that I couldn’t name it anything else.

The color possibilities are so completely endless on this. I chose a fall color palette. Though, I can see this in a wide variety of colors. The contrast colors use partials and could probably use up scraps in the stash. The yarn used in the sample is Sunshine Yarns Classic Sock and it is absolutely fabulous. It worked wonderfully for colorwork. It is such a pleasure to knit with and it blocks to an absolutely gorgeous fabric. I linked the website for a reason. Go! Run! Order! You’ll love it! I mean it! Ok, enough exclamation points.

Yes, he does look cool doesn’t he. It took several cookie bribes to get him to stand still, but he finally complied.  Now, keep in mind the color combos possible. I just happened to have a boy sitting around to model. As a unisex sweater, a girl could totally rock this look too.

 

There are short rows to raise up the neck just a bit. Worked top down, this is sweater really is minimalist on the finishing. It is so nice sometimes, to finish a sweater and no have anything else to do!

 

And here is the money shot! He even smiled and looked at the camera, at the same time!

 

Don’t let colorwork intimidate you. I used to think it was too hard. Obviously, I was wrong. When doing the colorwork sections, I use the Philosopher’s Two-handed method. Though, you can do it one hand at a time, it just takes a little longer but is still fun!

 

Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t forget about the KAL. It starts October 1st in my group. This pattern also qualifies for the sale too. Remember to use code: STOCKPILE2012 at checkout to get the 20% discount.

 

 

8 thoughts on “New Pattern, Pigwidgeon!

  1. I could not resist this and bought the pattern immediately. Then I went over to Cephalopod yarns and bought 2 skeins of Skinny Bugga in Rose Weevil (I was assisted in color selection by the soon to be 6 yr old who will be receiving the sweater).

    I have never done stranded color work – but it looks like I am fixing to learn.

    vox8 on Rav

    • Awww, how awesome! What a lucky six year old! Skinny Bugga is yummy. I’ve used it a lot on socks for myself. Stranded colorwork is so addicting. Once it clicks, it just clicks. I’m sure you will pick it up in no time!

Leave a Reply

