Color Lovers! Knit and Crochet Blog Week 2012 Day 1

I think about color a lot when I knit. I think about it even more when I design. I have a natural affection for several colors. Though, as of late, one might call them an obsession.

Green

Green is my happy color. I love the color green and all of it’s shades. Right now, I am really feeling those bright vibrant greens. Malabrigo Worsted Merino comes in a few greens that just absolutely make my day. There is the jubilant Sapphire Green and it’s slightly moodier cousin Verde Adriana. I just got 4 more skeins of green today. Here and here(you may need to be logged into etsy to see these, I’m not sure) are a couple of greens that I may have gotten a hold of just today. Don’t they just sing?  There is the added benefit that I look good in green.

Blue

Blue is a “safe” color for me. My kids, my significant other, and I all have blue eyes. We are all relatively pale skinned. We all look fantastic in blue. I can knit something in blue (hat, scarf, cowl) and I know someone can use it. I design in blue a lot, as well. My daughter and toddler son do most of the modeling for my designs and they both look awesome in blue.  Also, everyone likes blue. I can’t say that about orange. None of my kids like the color orange.

Gray

I really like the color( or value) gray. It goes with everything. I don’t have to worry about it clashing with my wardrobe because most of my wardrobe is also gray. Even if I pull out that rare shirt that isn’t gray, it will likely coordinate with gray. Also, I can knit a gender neutral item and it could go to either my daughter or my sons(or let’s face it, me) because anyone can pull off a good gray!

Salmon

The dreaded salmon…I just can’t do it. I’ve talked about colors that I like, now it’s time for that one color that I just cannot stand. I told myself earlier this year that I would like all colors, or I would try to. I stopped short when I thought about that coral, peach pink shade. I just cannot do it. I don’t like it. It’s one of those colors that makes me look completely hideous. I can’t really do light yellows either, but they don’t cause me to look away, salmon does. I look away fast.

What are some of your favorite colors? Have you seen any greens, blues, grays, that I need to know about? Please tell me! I love finding new yarn!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Color Lovers! Knit and Crochet Blog Week 2012 Day 1

  1. I am with you 100% on those. Every so often a a rich crimson or a purple catch my eye as well. I have a daughter who LOVES pink and I am hoping she will come to love blue and green along with me soon!

  2. I’m not really a pink kind of person either. It’s so cool how blue can be striking on a blue-eyed individual but for us brown-eyed gals? Wearing brown doesn’t do that unfortunately. Your kids are adorable.

Leave a Reply

