New Pattern: Backup Goalie

backupgoalie

I have a new pattern to show you. I’ve called it Backup Goalie. I am so excited about this one! I actually started this hat last spring, but had put it on hold for a bit so that I could finish some contract work. I figured releasing a “hockey” themed hat in June, probably wasn’t the best idea. I guess it isn’t really “hockey” themed aside from the colors, but I call it “hockey” themed due to the fact that its inspiration comes from the backup goalie. I remember when I was younger, I would catch a glimpse of the backup goalie sitting on the bench, usually hatless or with a baseball cap on and I would think to myself that their heads looked cold. Seriously, that’s what I thought. It stuck with  me. What can I say?

The pattern is a colorwork pattern that starts with 1×1 ribbing. The body has a chevron-ish colorwork pattern, which works it’s way to the crown which is done in a star pattern. The crown was really fun to design.

backupgoalie2

The hat pattern includes instructions and charts for 2 weights: fingering and worsted. The worsted hat only has one size, but the fingering hat includes a Medium size. If one is comfortable playing around with pattern repeats and gauge, it is possible to come up with several different sizes.

goalie

The yarn. Oh, the yarn. Both the fingering weight and worsted weight hats use a yarn I call a favorite. First of all, the fingering weight hat uses Sunshine Yarns Classic Sock. It’s a nice plump sock yarn that just knits up gorgeously in colorwork. The worsted weight hat is done up in the bouncy, cushy, Plucky Knitter Primo Worsted.  The fingering weight hat is knit at a looser gauge and that makes the hat a bit more slouchy. One could also use a sportweight yarn at this weight for something a bit less slouchy or if they have trouble getting fingering weight to work at the stated gauge.

kings1

The black and gray versions (Los Angeles Kings’ colors) have been adopted by me as they match my winter coat. My daughter has taken the blue and gold version (Buffalo Sabres’ colors). They have been worn almost non-stop since finishing. The weather here has been a little on the cruel side. One day it’s 80, the next it’s 30. There may have been a few 70′s in between, but not many!

I almost forgot to mention! For the first 3 days of it’s release, I am offering the pattern at 1.00 off! So, until midnight on the 26th, Backup Goalie will be $1.00 with the code BACKUP13 at checkout.

3 thoughts on “New Pattern: Backup Goalie

Leave a Reply

